No more covering your license plate

Illegal in AZ

After years of wrangling and haggling over the meaning of “A person shall maintain each license plate so it is clearly legible”. Any and all coverings, including wax according to one wag, are now banned. SB1073 has passed and was signed by the governor; the effective date is something like 90 days after the session closes; perhaps August(?).  Here’s the new section:

28-2354. License plates...

Any wiggle room? Only time will tell.


In politics, everything is political. Despite that, I found the voting pattern curious. The bill passed it’s committees quite easily, and despite passing in both houses, there were a significant number of ‘no’ votes. I have no idea why anyone in particular would vote against it; privacy advocates? Dunno.  (I did shoot out an email to one of my legislators (Rep. Norgaard who voted against it).

Anyway, the vote gives a spin on party-line voting. In Arizona, the Republicans have a super-majority… so when I saw the vote in the senate, for example, of 20-10, i assumed it was probably party line and there are 20 Republicans and 10 Democrats. Wrong. Every singe Democratic legislator in both houses (save for 1 NV) voted ‘yes’. Every single one of the 35 total no votes was a Republican.


name name party y/n h/s ld
ALLEN S Sylvia Allen R N senate 6
BARTO Nancy Barto R N senate 15
BURGES Judy Burges R N senate 22
FARNSWORTH D David C. Farnsworth R N senate 16
GRIFFIN Gail Griffin — Majority Whip R N senate 14
KAVANAGH John Kavanagh R N senate 23
MONTENEGRO Steve Montenegro R N senate 13
PETERSEN Warren Petersen R N senate 12
PRATT Frank Pratt R N senate 8
SMITH Steve Smith R N senate 11
ALLEN J John M. Allen — Majority Leader R N house 15
BARTON Brenda Barton R N house 6
BOYER Paul Boyer R N house 20
CARTER Heather Carter R N house 15
CLODFELTER Todd A. Clodfelter R N house 10
COBB Regina E. Cobb R N house 5
COLEMAN Douglas Coleman R N house 16
COOK David L. Cook R N house 8
FINCHEM Mark Finchem R N house 11
GRANTHAM Travis W. Grantham R N house 12
KERN Anthony T. Kern R N house 20
LAWRENCE Jay Lawrence R N house 23
LEACH Vince Leach R N house 11
LIVINGSTON David Livingston R N house 22
MESNARD Javan D. Mesnard — Speaker R N house 17
MITCHELL Darin Mitchell R N house 13
MOSLEY Paul Mosley R N house 5
NORGAARD Jill Norgaard R N house 18
NUTT Becky A. Nutt R N house 14
PAYNE Kevin Payne R N house 21
SHOOTER Don Shooter R N house 13
SYMS Maria Syms R N house 28
THORPE Bob Thorpe R N house 6
UDALL Michelle Udall R N house 25
WENINGER Jeff Weninger R N house 17
RIVERO Tony Rivero R NV house 21
SALMAN Athena Salman D NV house 26
TOWNSEND Kelly Townsend — Majority Whip R NV house 16
UGENTI-RITA Michelle B. Ugenti-Rita R NV house 23
BORRELLI Sonny Borrelli R Y senate 5
BOWIE Sean Bowie D Y senate 18
BRADLEY David Bradley D Y senate 10
BROPHY MCGEE Kate Brophy McGee R Y senate 28
CAJERO BEDFORD Olivia Cajero Bedford D Y senate 3
CONTRERAS Lupe Contreras — Minority Whip D Y senate 19
DALESSANDRO Andrea Dalessandro D Y senate 2
FANN Karen Fann R Y senate 1
FARLEY Steve Farley — Assistant Minority Leader D Y senate 9
HOBBS Katie Hobbs — Minority Leader D Y senate 24
LESKO Debbie Lesko — President Pro Tempore R Y senate 21
MENDEZ Juan Mendez D Y senate 26
MEZA Robert Meza D Y senate 30
MIRANDA Catherine Miranda D Y senate 27
OTONDO Lisa Otondo D Y senate 4
PESHLAKAI Jamescita Peshlakai D Y senate 7
QUEZADA Martin Quezada — Minority Whip D Y senate 29
WORSLEY Bob Worsley R Y senate 25
YARBROUGH Steve Yarbrough — President R Y senate 17
YEE Kimberly Yee — Majority Leader R Y senate 20
ALSTON Lela Alston D Y house 24
ANDRADE Richard C. Andrade D Y house 29
BENALLY Wenona Benally D Y house 7
BLANC Isela Blanc D Y house 26
BOLDING Reginald Bolding D Y house 27
BOWERS Russell Bowers R Y house 25
BUTLER Kelli Butler D Y house 28
CAMPBELL Noel W. Campbell R Y house 1
CARDENAS Mark A. Cardenas D Y house 19
CHÁVEZ César Chávez D Y house 29
CLARK Ken Clark D Y house 24
DESCHEENIE Eric Descheenie D Y house 7
ENGEL Kirsten Engel D Y house 10
EPSTEIN Mitzi Epstein D Y house 18
ESPINOZA Diego Espinoza D Y house 19
FARNSWORTH E Eddie Farnsworth R Y house 12
FERNANDEZ Charlene R. Fernandez — Minority Whip D Y house 4
FRIESE Randall Friese — Assistant Minority Leader D Y house 9
GABALDÓN Rosanna Gabaldón D Y house 2
GONZALES Sally Ann Gonzales D Y house 3
HERNANDEZ Daniel Hernandez D Y house 2
JOHN Drew John R Y house 14
LOVAS Phil Lovas R Y house 22
MARTINEZ Ray D. Martinez D Y house 30
NAVARRETE Tony Navarrete D Y house 30
POWERS HANNLEY Pamela Powers Hannley D Y house 9
RIOS Rebecca Rios — Minority Leader D Y house 27
RUBALCAVA Jesus Rubalcava D Y house 4
SALDATE Macario Saldate D Y house 3
SHOPE Thomas R. Shope — Speaker Pro Tempore R Y house 8
STRINGER David Stringer R Y house 1



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *